The Revd Canon Dr Robin Ward

The Revd Canon Dr Robin Ward became Principal of St Stephen’s House in September 2006. Prior to this, Canon Ward was vicar of the parish of St John the Baptist, Sevenoaks for ten years, and was honorary Canon Theologian of Rochester Cathedral. A graduate of Magdalen College, Oxford, he trained for the priesthood at St Stephen’s House, and subsequently obtained a doctorate from the University of London in the field of patristics. He is married to Ruth, who is a solicitor, and they have two sons.

Fr Andreas

The Revd Andreas Wenzel was appointed Vice Principal and Director of Pastoral Studies in August 2020. After his curacy at St Peter’s Horbury with St John’s Horbury Bridge (West Yorkshire), he served as Shrine Priest at the Anglican Shrine of Our Lady of Walsingham (Norfolk). A theological graduate of Hamburg University, Fr Andreas trained for the priesthood at St Stephen’s House and is pursuing doctoral studies through the University of Erfurt on a Renaissance commentary on the Mass.

The Revd Lucy Gardner

The Revd Lucy Gardner joined the staff in 1993, having studied theology at St John’s College, Oxford, and at Bonn University, and was ordained deacon in 2012 and priested in 2013. Her research interests include Balthasar and Feminist Theology. She is also an Honorary Chaplain at Christ Church Cathedral, Oxford, and has been involved in several Building Bridges Seminars, which bring Christians and Muslims into conversation on theological topics. She is married to Chris, a secondary school science teacher.

Dr Ian Boxall

Dr Ian Boxall is Senior Tutor and Tutor in New Testament. He returned to St Stephen’s House in January 2023, having previously taught here between 1994 and 2013. From 2013 to 2022 he was Associate Professor of New Testament at the Catholic University of America in Washington DC. His research interests include the Gospel of Matthew, the Book of Revelation, and the reception history of the New Testament. He is a member of the Catholic Biblical Association of America, the Society of Biblical Literature, and the Studiorum Novi Testamenti Societas (SNTS). He also serves on the International Dialogue Commission between the Catholic Church and the Disciples of Christ. To view his Faculty page please click here.

Dr John Chesworth
Revd Stephen Coleman
Revd Mark Fox
Dr Serenhedd James
Dr Norman Russell
The Rt Revd Alan Chesters CBE
His Eminence Hovnan Derderian
Ms Sue Waldman
The Rt Revd and Rt Hon Lord Williams of Oystermouth
The Rt Revd and Rt Hon Lord Hope of Thornes

Distinguished Visiting Fellows
Revd Charles Card-Reynolds
Alderman Gregory Jones KC

Mr John Booth DL
The Very Revd Frederick Lawson
College Administrative Officer and Admissions Secretary: Amira Hasoon
Academic Secretary: Stephanie Sparkes
Conference Services Manager: Hayley Edwards
Housekeeper: Louise Gregory
Finance and Domestic Officer: Janice Anderson
Librarian: Andrew Hudson
Development Director: Rachel Makari
Maintenance Manager: Maciej Pietruszewski
Chef Manager: Rahul Balehittal
SJE Arts Director: Michèle Smith